Build An Ice Cream Craft

While some of you are already putting on your fall boots and picking apples at the orchard, those of us in Texas are finally enjoying some “cooler” shorts weather! We have at least made it out of the triple-digits, so I’m not complaining! As a send-off to Texas Summer, we hosted an Ice Cream Craft Play Date.

icecream

I was inspired by this Felt Busy Box by Teach Me Mommy, however I am the worst with felt! So I decided to try it with construction paper and do more of an Invitation to Create Ice Cream Craft instead.

icecream2

For snacks we had a Build Your Own Yogurt Sundae Bar. I had some leftover spoons and bowls from Memorial Day, so they were the perfect excuse to get them out again. My son also loves these Stonyfield YoKids Squeezers in the Birthday Cake flavor so we used these. I’m just bummed that they are only a special edition so buy them while you can!

icecream3

The topping choices are endless, but we used Cheerios, Oreos, marshmallows, chocolate chips, strawberries, bananas, sprinkles and cherries

And here are our final products. I was surprised at how simple this was to put together, especially since I had leftover scraps from our Build a Bug Play Date. You’ll just want to make sure to use some Craft Glue to hold on the fabric pom poms and pipe cleaner.

icecream4

Originally I wanted to try my hand at these Banana Peanut Butter Bites, but I ran out of time and thought the kids would have more fun making their own yogurt cups anyway. It was so much fun coming up with inspiration for this play date. There are some great ideas out there for ice cream besides just eating it!

Ice Cream Sundae Busy Box  | Breakfast Sundaes | Cupcake Liner Ice Cream Cones | Banana Split Mini Bites | Banana Peanut Butter Bites

blog17

How did you send off summer? Is anyone else still experiencing warmer weather like us?

Leave a Reply

