Little Blue Truck’s Halloween

We are a week away from Halloween and I have been so excited about Little Blue Truck’s Halloween by Alice Schertle since our last Little Blue Truck Play Date. My kids adore this series and Halloween books are read year-round in our house so this book was a no-brainer for us.

halloween

Not only is this book a lift-the-flap, but it features all of our favorite characters in costume. “Under the mask, who do you see?” is the theme of this book, so I thought that making masks to go along with this book was the perfect activity.

halloween3

halloween2

To make the masks, I traced a mask we already had, or you can use a template like these Printable Super Hero Face Masks. I just cut these out using construction paper, then I taped paper straws like these to the backs before decorating them with glitter glue and sequins. This was a fun and easy craft until my kids decided they were flags at the end and were waving them around shaking sequins everywhere…. just consider yourself warned!

halloween1

Can we also talk about all the fun Halloween snacks that are out right now? I’m loving these Annie’s Halloween Bunnies and Bats Fruit Snacks and these UTZ Halloween Mini Cheese Balls (I also found both of these at Target). But I think our favorite treat that we have found so far are these spooky cupcakes from Rao’s Bakery in Spring.

lbth1

Yummy cupcakes and cake balls from Rao’s Bakery as well as my son’s masterpiece.

With Halloween just around the corner, I had a lot of fun researching fun mask ideas like these Glitzy Fun Masks from Cotton On or this Cape and Eye Mask and these Cat-Shaped Paper Masks from H&M. (And if you run now, I just saw Cotton On has Free Shipping with No Minimum today only!)blog22

Are you ready for Halloween? I think these masks would be super fun any time of year! For more Little Blue Truck fun you can also check out this Activity Kid and Party Kit from the publisher’s website that I found.

2 thoughts on “Little Blue Truck’s Halloween

Leave a Reply

