Thankful

The best part about Thanksgiving isn’t the Turkey crafts, but remembering to be Thankful for what we have. I think another big part of that is giving back to those in need. I found this book Thankful by Eileen Spinelli and not only are the illustrations adorable but it teaches kids that there is always something to be thankful for. I’ve been so inspired by some of the other blogs that I follow lately that I thought I would share some of my favorite ideas for appreciating what we have and giving back to others.

thankful

Growing Book by Book has a Give a Book and Treat Challenge where you leave a gift card and a small note inside of a book that you can leave either in a Little Free Library, give to someone in need or even try leaving it on a bench like Emma Watson.

My other favorite ideas for giving back are the Christmas Shoe Boxes, which we ended up packing with my MOPS group this year. I also love this idea that Reading Every Day posted on their Instagram where they added a fun note to become Pen Pals! There are tons of fun ideas on how to pack your box or host a Packing Party here as well as this fun printable for becoming Pen Pals. Even though today is the last day for the shipping window, you can always get started on packing your box for next year, or look for a local family to adopt through Houston’s Children’s Charity or through Houston’s Giving Tree.

thankful3

Here are some of my favorite Thanksgiving Printables and crafts, as well as a  Give Thanks Printable made by yours truly! How gorgeous are these Gratitude Batiks from A Friendly Affair, or these Gratitude Boxes from Meri Cherry? These Printable Placemat and Pumpkin Leaves Printables are both from Ella Claire as well.

blog25

Now this isn’t anything fancy, but I felt inspired to make my own free printable if you feel compelled to print one out. What are some of your favorite ways to give back this time of year? I hope all of you have a Happy Thanksgiving with your loved ones!

thanks9

 

 

One thought on “Thankful

Leave a Reply

