Baby Book Club: Eric Carle Inspired Valentine’s Craft

How are we already pulling into the month of February? For this month’s Baby Book Club, we decided to celebrate Valentine’s Day early by reading Love from The Very Hungry Caterpillar by Eric Carle. This is a very short and sweet book that almost reads like a Valentine’s Day card, but your kids will love the illustrations and rhymes.

hearts2

When I was researching Valentine’s Day crafts, I’ll admit that one can only get so creative with heart activities. I decided to take some of my favorite craft ideas that I’ve been wanting to try and incorporate it with the mixed media art style of Eric Carle. I recently discovered these Neon Kwik Stix Tempura Paint Sticks and I knew they would be a hit with my kids. I also went with the Metallix Set for additional colors. The Tempura Sticks take all the fun of painting without making too much of a mess unless your son is like mine and likes to gather them all together with the lids off and carry them around the house….

hearts4

The kids decorated their hearts with the Paint Sticks, as well as with some dot markers and chalk pastels (however the pastels only mix with the dot markers, and not the paint). The best part is that you don’t have to wait for the paint to dry, so we were able to tie our hearts with bakers twine to some sticks I had found after cutting them out. They look great in the window when the light hits just right.

hearts

I mentioned in my last post that we had quite a few cheese balls leftover from Oliver’s birthday, so for a snack I put together these fun Valentine’s treats for the kids. I thought these tags might go cute with some Atomic Fireball candies as well, in case cheese balls aren’t your thing. Then I made a snack mix with teddy grahams, conversation hearts and these Cupid’s Messages M&Ms. I decided to make a fun free printable to go along with the snacks if you’d like to make your own Great Balls of Fire, Valentines!

hearts3

Despite the Super Bowl just around the corner in Houston, our original plan was to meet at Discovery Green to check out the Enchanted Promenade installment. However, the park ended up being closed to get ready for their Super Bowl LIVE event. But we made the most of the detour by checking out this Hearts Mural Wall which is part of the Houston Graffiti Building in East Downtown. You can follow the artist, Whaley Fine Art on Instagram and you can find more fun walls around Houston from this list on Wear Where Well.

hearts5

Overall we had a great day exploring Houston while getting together with friends and celebrating Valentine’s Day. For more Valentine’s books ideas, check out some of our other favorite books like The Shape of My Heart, The Awesome Book of Love!, Happy Valentine’s Day, Mouse!, and Huggy Kissy.

hearrts6

Do you have any favorite Valentine’s books or craft ideas?

4 thoughts on “Baby Book Club: Eric Carle Inspired Valentine’s Craft

Leave a Reply

